About Nigeria

Nigeria at a Glance

Capital: Abuja
State: 36
Local Government: 774
Official language: English
National Day: 1 October
President: Bola Ahmed Tinubu
Currency: Naira (₦)
Population: 219.5 million CIA FACTBOOK (July 2021 estimated)
Gross Domestic Product: US$432.3 billion (2020) World Bank

Nigeria is located in West Africa along the Gulf of Guinea on the Atlantic Ocean. It is the largest black nation in the world and a leading player on the continent of Africa and a respected member of the comity of nation. Nigeria gained independence in 1960 and became a republic in 1963. It is a federal constitutional republic comprising of 36 states and the Federal Capital Territory, Abuja. English is the official language of Nigeria, and its currency is the Nigerian naira (NGN). Nigeria is a diverse country of about 250 different ethnic groups, and the largest economy in Africa.